Four Senior House Democrats, Including Rep. Jerry Nadler, Suggest Biden Should Not Run in 2024 Election

Senior House Democrats, including Representative Jerry Nadler (D-NY), have recently urged Joe Biden to reconsider his plans for the 2024 presidential race. This significant development within the Democratic Party was first reported by Politico.

The call for Biden’s withdrawal from the upcoming presidential race was made during a two-hour phone conversation with House Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries. Representatives Jerry Nadler (D-N.Y.), Mark Takano (D-Calif.), Joe Morelle (D-N.Y.), and Adam Smith (D-Wash.) were all part of this pivotal discussion.

Initially, these senior House Democrats were supposed to address concerns about Biden’s electability during their call, as per a report by The New York Post. However, they ended up joining five other House Democrats who had previously expressed doubts about Biden’s chances in the general election.

Four more senior House Democrats are calling for President Joe Biden to end his reelection bid following a private call with Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries on Sunday, according to multiple reports.

Reps. Jerry Nadler (D-N.Y.), Joe Morelle (D-N.Y.), Adam Smith (D-Wash.), and Mark Takano (D-Calif.) have all called on the incumbent to step aside for the 2024 Presidential race during the two-hour call with Jeffries, sources told Politico, the New York Times and other outlets.

The four Democrats made their claims during a meeting of House Democrats on Sunday that was meant to address the party’s anxieties and concerns over Biden’s ability to win in November.

Nadler, Morelle, Smith and Takano join five other House Democrats who have issued statements questioning Biden’s reelection prospects following a poor performance during the first presidential debate against former President Donald Trump.

Here is the complete list of Democrats who have publicly called for Biden to step aside:

Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-Texas)

Rep. Raúl Grijalva (D-Ariz.)

Rep. Seth Moulton (D-Mass.)

Rep. Mike Quigley (D-Ill.)

Rep. Angie Craig (D-Minn.)

Jerry Nadler (D-N.Y.)

Mark Takano (D-Calif.)

Joe Morelle (D-N.Y.)

Adam Smith (D-Wash.)

More Reading

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *